Day 14: Failing to Find the Perfect Cane

I love and hate my cane.

Besides keeping me balanced while walking and acting as a non-aggressive indicator that folks need to not crowd me, I just can’t find one with all the features I need.

Folding canes fit nicely into a purse but some are hard to use if your hand is weak.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 11.45.41 AMI would do much better if canes were like automatic umbrellas:

Because I can’t run and a cane pretty much tells every criminal in a 2 block radius to mug me, I could also use something weaponized.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 11.47.20 AM

Sure a retractable ice pick would be helpful, but not functional. Muggers don’t let you stop and propel a sharp metal object before kicking your walking stick out from under you and grabbing your purse.

I would need something a little more imposing like Viktoria Modesta’s kick ass prosthetic:

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 12.05.31 PM

Only an idiot (or an outlaw with a S&M fetish) will mug this chick.

I could also use a cane that’s illuminated, ergonomic, capable of standing upright while handling all terrains.

People tell me that I should invent exactly what I need then go on Shark Tank. But instead, I’m going to write this blog post and hope that some cool, engineer will do all the work for me. I’m happy to try out their prototypes and give them feedback. I just don’t have time to invent anything as I’m trying to re-wire my nervous system and figure out how to walk someday without a cane.

In the meantime if you stumble on something cool let me know.  Beautiful, artistic yet functional prosthetics are being created daily.  I think it’s time that the cane and crutch industry follows suit.

 

 

 

Leave a comment